A life of boredom #MundaneMonday #FictionMonday

Is a boring life a good thing?

A few hours ago, I was contemplating on the same lines.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

“My life is boring.” I had almost said it aloud but thankfully did not do so because then the other inhabitant at home, who is working from home today, would not have missed a chance to prescribe me – “You must go out every day to walk.” This is a good remedy, but my concern is it is prescribed to me quite liberally for all kinds of issues and occasions.

My take is walking will be helpful but wouldn’t going for a walk every day also add to the boredom of life?

Routine and familiarity work for me by keeping the anxiety arising out of uncertainty far far away. Yet, waking up every day at the same time and following the same routine for hours at a stretch has left me with no energy in recent times. I have reached a stage where I want to stay confined to the bed, wake up at will, give up on cooking & laundry, and maybe just read books or crochet for hours. I want an extended opportunity to try and get bored of adhering to my new plan of activities so that I feel happy going back to my waking up early, cooking, and laundry life routine whenever it beckons me.

So as it goes, I need 2 alternate lives which I can keep switching from one to another based on my convenience.

And then somewhere in between, I would also like a day when I am living on the edge by indulging in impossible stuff for my personality and nobody needs to know what I am up to. Now this is an intriguing idea!

This post is written in response to the 192nd edition of Fiction Monday inspired by the word prompt – ‘Impossible’ hosted at Void Thoughts by Vinitha Dileep. Do join in if you have a tale to tell.


5 thoughts on “A life of boredom #MundaneMonday #FictionMonday

  1. “And then somewhere in between, I would also like a day when I am living on the edge by indulging in impossible stuff for my personality and nobody needs to know what I am up to. Now this is an intriguing idea!” I am intrigued, Anamika. Very intrigued. 😀

    Like

    1. How convenient it would be to have two alternative lives to switch back and forth from based on our likeness! Then again, that would be one too many choices for me to handle. 🙂

      Like

  2. You need a break Anamika. Try going off on a solo holiday for a day or two. To a place close by, maybe but away from the responsibilities of home. Is it possible? Or maybe take a break from your daily chores for a day. I made Sunday a ‘Make your own breakfast day’ so I can laze in bed at least one day of the week. I utterly love the idea of you living on the edge. Maybe you can have a double life – like Arnold Schwarzenegger in True Lies. Have you seen that film?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.