Morning battles: A saga of two tablespoons #MundaneMonday

This morning I woke up feeling fine. I did my meditation and journaling followed by 5 minutes of scrolling the internet. I selected ‘Great’ to the question ‘How are you feeling today’ in the Insight timer app.

I was feeling fine while I was cooking food for breakfast and lunch. I packed the boy’s lunch box and served him his breakfast.

I was feeling fine while I picked up the milk and curd packets (BB daily delivery) from outside the main door.

I was feeling fine while I fed the fish hearing it making a chomp-chomp sound as it gobbled up the pellets of fish food.

I was feeling fine while I got ready for my exercise class and had my morning drink.

I was feeling fine until I cleared what little food the boy had left on his breakfast plate by devouring it. Why throw the food in the bin if it can be eaten especially if it is tasty!

And then the inevitable thing happened. I went and refilled the plate with 2 tablespoons of the breakfast item.

“It is just 2 tablespoons. It does not count.

Oh silly you, you are not supposed to eat before you finish your exercise.

The 2 voices held out against each other in my head. The blue voice won with me colluding with it. Offering a consolation to the red voice, the blue voice showed it there was still much left in the kadhai (wok) meant to be eaten after finishing the exercise.

“Wow! I am going to be here watching you.”

“Meri mehfil main kismat aazmaale, tujhko dekhenge. Aji haan tujhko dekhenge.” It sang a spin-off of the original song.

It was time for the class by the time the red voice ceded or as the blue voice considered it ceding.

Photo by Mary Nikitina on Pexels.com

5 minutes into the class –

I was not feeling fine. My energy began plummeting.

15 minutes into the class –

I was not feeling fine. I began facing trouble catching and matching most of the trainer’s moves as the tempo of the class moved up. My mind insisted on wandering to the kitchen and the food in the kadhai.

“Leave the ground. Today is not the day to continue. Leave this and eat up. Make some excuse later on. Say the knees were hurting too much. The tasty food is waiting for you. You will feel a lot better than just being fine after a full belly”. A third voice enticed me like one of the Indra’s Apsaras.

I stood my ground continuing to struggle to catch and match the steps and coming to a stop whenever my mind fogged up. I finished the hour-long class with whatever little energy I could muster up. I felt relieved at the end that I could finally fill my plate and subsequently my tummy with the tasty morning breakfast. The accompanying tea was perfect too thankfully.

I am feeling fine feeling far much better now having something to write about for my Mundane Monday post after having spent a good 15 minutes staring at the blank computer screen hopping from one idea to another unsuccessfully.

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

3 thoughts on “Morning battles: A saga of two tablespoons #MundaneMonday

  1. Indra’s apsaras! I haven’t thought about them in a long while, Anamika. Two tablespoons gave you a full blog post! How wonderful is that? And to top of, you feel better. 🙂 The red voice needs to chill. It’s just 2 tablespoons after all! 😀

    Like

  2. Ha ha ha — there’s too much going on in that head of your Anamika. Also, kudos to your perseverance – you did finish the class so that’s a ‘W’ as the kids would say.

    BTW, what was that tasty breakfast?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.