Too many hobbies – a blessing or not! #MundaneMonday

I am a fairly tidy person.

I say “fairly tidy” because there is someone else who is extremely tidy and organized in my home.

Since I have learned to rise beyond comparisons, I embrace absoluteness over relativity. Mr. Albert Einstein, you can keep resting in peace. So as I mentioned I am a fairly tidy person. I keep the home well organized by my standards. Everything is out there in plain view and yet in its good place. I take the saying ‘Out of sight, out of mind’ seriously.

This trait of mine is particularly helpful when it comes to keeping track of the various work-in-progress hobby projects I am pursuing at the present moment. Over the years, I have found myself taking up a new hobby every 6 months without giving up on my earlier hobbies. Trust me the list has grown considerably long. My childhood self feels happy for me because she did not have any hobby to boast of. Her main job was to study hard. She did read magazines though. And comics too. Could that count as a hobby? She never deemed it so because the most fashionable hobbies of that era were stamp collection and coin collection.

Coming back to the present times –

Answering the question ‘how do I keep track of my work-in-progress projects?’ – I keep them at my sight level around the house.

  1. My crochet WIPs – the 2 cushion covers – have found a permanent place in one corner of the couch.
  2. My coloring pens, of all kinds, along with the coloring book, are constantly present on the top of the waist-high cabinet beside the dining table.
  3. My immediate TBR set of books is perched on the headboard of my bed. And, the one which I turn to every night to read a chapter before going to sleep rests between the 2 pillows on my bed during the day.
  4. The diary, in which I am making notes in the process of learning Japanese, moves around the house every couple of days while making sure it adorns only those spaces where I can see it clearly.
  5. My workout shoes, with socks stuffed in them, have never found their way into the shoe shelves. They have been out in the open, next to the study table, in my exercising room cum study room cum office room for the last 7 months ready to invite me at all hours to get into them and begin exercising. I,however, accept their invitation between 8 am to 9 am only. You see for a great length of time, I used to see exercising as work or rather necessary hard work which I didn’t enjoy and I kept falling off the tracks. Now, I have begun to see exercising as a hobby and thus I have discovered the fun in it. Or maybe it is the other way round. Because I am deriving joy out of it hence I consider it as a hobby.

Now what led to this post.

It was on Friday when I picked up the bag, holding my crochet WIPs, and opened it. I took them out to see there was still a lot of work left to complete. They should have actually got complete by now as it has been a full one month. Delving into the reasons why I couldn’t finish them on time, it dawned upon me that I have taken up so many hobbies that I am unable to dedicate a good time to all of them. My current interests are learning Japanese and exercising daily.

Going by another perspective, it is a blessing for me that I have one or the other thing to look forward to every single day with the intention to create and find joy in. I tend to get easily bored doing the same thing day in and day out and therefore the wide variety of my interests and hobbies keep me glued in with life.

On a closing note, the absence of the physical presence of people (apart from the 2 other members of my family) in my life or my general inability to do people leaves me with a huge amount of free time to devote to learning and practicing varied skills.

What is your take on hobbies? Do you have one or a few? Are you of the opinion that I have too many hobbies to pay adequate attention to? Feel free to flow in the comment section below.


6 thoughts on “Too many hobbies – a blessing or not! #MundaneMonday

  1. It’s absolutely fine to have a lot of hobbies. But then I have lots too, so I might be biased. I like the idea of keeping everything easily accessible. Out of sight out of mind is a real thing. For instance, when I don’t sit in my balcony for a few days I forget to keep it clean or water the plants. Bechare would have all died except I have now passed on the responsibility to N. So keep crocheting, learning Japanese, making art and of course exercising.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no hobbies at the moment. Stopped reading, writing, and yoga. Just finish my chores and that is more than enough for me. Good to read your post after long.

    Like

  3. Having lots of hobbies is a blessing, Anamika, so you are blessed! As you said, these hobbies are a reason you look forward to your days. And as there are quite a few of these, you are free to pick what you feel like doing at any given time, except exercising, which you do in the morning. Keep it up, and enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s absolutely wonderful that you are making time and space for the things that brings you happiness, Anamika. You figured out how to approach your hobbies, not everyone is capable to do that. Keep pursuing what makes you happy. 💖😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.