Constant shock: My fitness journey #MundaneMonday

“I was shocked,” I caught myself saying this thrice in a matter of 3 minutes.

I think it would be better to say I have become a shocked personality like my constant reaction, these days, is I get shocked a lot.

Almost all of these shocks are coming from my pursuit of the fitness journey. At the beginning of December, one morning after finishing the one-hour-long workout session on Zoom, something clicked in my mind and I sat down to calculate the total inch loss from the day I began exercising with DWD till that particular day. To my shock, the total inch loss came up to 10 inches. And, this happened over a period of 3 months. My expression and reaction could also have been happily surprised but what I experienced actually was a shock. Happiness did follow soon after, though.

In the following 2 months i.e. from mid-December to mid-Februray, I did everything right – attended Zoom classes regularly with only 2 days of absence per month and followed the right diet but neither the weighing scale nor the measuring tape showed any progress. I was shocked again. Shocked at the stagnation when the previous 3 months were all about consistent progress. This prompted me to go back to the intention with which I joined the DWD classes. My initial intention was to pursue the kind of physical exercise I would love to do with my limited capacity which had led me to DWD workouts.

The month of February was dedicated to facial exercises along with cardio and body-strengthening exercises. It was my first time trying facial exercises to work on the face fat. At the end of the month, I got my photo clicked to compare it with my last photo taken in January. Thus, it happened again – the shock. This time my shock knew no bounds. I was terrifically shocked at the result. I assessed and analyzed the photos for quite a length of time to make sure the result was true and it was not any camera angle trick. To assure myself, I sent my photos to my side of the family WhatsApp group for them to see and let me know. When each of the members recognized the considerable loss of face fat, then only I got over my state of shock converting it to happiness.

I am aware of why it gives me a (huge) shock every time I see a drastic change in how my body has responded to the exercises. In the last 20 years, I have taken up numerous weight loss programs with various forms of exercises from yoga to gymming to working out with a gym instructor to attempting to walk 10000 steps each day and every time I struggled with remaining consistent because I never got the results I was looking for. Running on a controlled diet was tough. Gymming was strenuous. It was in the gym that I lost the good health of my knees forever 7 years ago. The results were slow even after putting in lots of effort. Moreover, I didn’t enjoy the process. So now that I am getting positive results, much more than my expectations, with not-more-but-adequate efforts, I am finding it hard to accept at first instance. This explains the perennial state of shock.

I begin my 6th month with DWD Zoom classes today which is a sort of record for me going by my past trysts of workout regimes. I continue to enjoy the process of dancing and working out to the songs. This month the focus will be on belly toning exercises and I cannot wait to be shocked one more time at the end of March.

In addition to being a shocked personality, I can also say I have become a shocking personality as well. Ask my husband. I am shocking him quite considerably these days with my frequent proposals of inculcating new experiments in my life in the name of self-discovery. This is going to be a subject for one future post in itself.

_______________________________________________________

If you are new to my blog and want to know more about DWD Zoom classes, feel free to ask me in the comment box or send me an email from my ‘Contact me’ page. I will be happy to answer your queries.

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Pexels.com

9 thoughts on “Constant shock: My fitness journey #MundaneMonday

  1. I saw your pictures Anamika and the change is phenomenal. Proud of you for your consistency. If there’s one thing I’ve realised about exercise (as a life-long fat-fighter) it’s this – that when done consistently coupled with a healthy diet it does yield results. I have been thinking of DWD but am not able to find a clear time slot and I don’t want to take up anything half-heartedly. Perhaps I’ll wait out these few months till the children are through with their Boards and I settle down too before I take up anything. I’m so tempted, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am delighted to know about your interest in joining DWD, Tulika. I can understand with your new work schedule and the twins’ upcoming board exams, you will need some time to figure out which time slot of zoom sessions will work for you. I hope you are able to settle down soon and start your fitness journey with DWD 🙂

      Like

  2. Anamika, I have seen how consistently you have been working on yourself and that is what shows! I am so happy for your accomplishments, vis-a-vis your mental and physical health. You are indeed a shining example for those who need one to motivate them to follow a health regimen and stick to it, no matter what, and also enjoy it. It’s because you enjoy DWD that you have been (pleasantly) shocked to see the positive changes in yourself. May you get shocked (pleasantly, of course) in the coming months as you find more improvement in your overall health. Keep going, girl! And, yes, you looked fab in the picture you shared in your IG Before and After story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the word ‘Pleasantly’ that you have used to describe my reaction of shock. We are creating new word combinations here which have not been used until now 😀
      Thank you for your heartwarming comment, Shilpa.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These are the kind of shocks that one needs in their life, Anamika. I am so happy for you. You found an exercise program suitable for you and you were able to be consistent at it. Consistency is a common problem.
    I can’t wait to see your photo at the end of March and to learn about your shocking surprises. You are an inspiration, Anamika! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As with everything else, consistency always pays off. The fact that I enjoy DWD work-outs helped me in staying consistent thus giving me positive results.
      Thank you for your heartwarming words of appreciation, Vinitha 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.