If we were having coffee together… #MundaneMonday

Today is truly mundane. More than half of the day had passed contemplating the topic of #MundaneMonday post and I was not able to find one. Coffee came to my rescue. How? In a bid to stop the procrastination, I got up from my writing table to make coffee. While whisking the vanilla-flavoured instant coffee in the cup and watching the milk coming to a boil, the post idea struck me.

Recently I read Shilpa’s post ‘If we were having coffee together…’ and recalled how a few years back this blog post idea was a recurring theme on many blogs. I also once did a post on the same back in 2017. It was fun writing random points and stuff completely unrelated to each other. Today seems to be a good day to meet you, my reader, over coffee and talk about random, just random things.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you I make the best tea with black pepper and lots of ginger. And of course milk. I have reservations about calling anything tea if it does not have milk in it. Green tea, White tea, hibiscus tea and whatnot are just hot water infusions.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you my word of the year 2024 is ‘Free’. I didn’t have it in me to write a full detailed post on it hence I am inserting it here. My aim is to seek freedom from anything and everything that has held me in shackles internally, consciously or unconsciously. The first step has been to free myself of the notion that I cannot write fiction. I have written 2 fiction pieces back to back which I enjoyed writing. The next step is to go on solo trips to expand my horizon leaving behind the husband and boy at home and giving them a chance to become self-reliant in taking care of the house and their respective work.

Photo by Jason Villanueva on Pexels.com

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you I have been creating joy through writing, reading, and colouring this month. I lagged in crocheting and it is okay. I have only a fixed amount of time that I can dedicate to pursue my interests and I cannot do it all at the same time. I crocheted to my heart’s content in December but then I did not write or blog last month. The primary intention is to create joy in whichever activity I can manage to do.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you that it has been 4 months of doing regular ‘Dance with Deepti (DWD)’ dance workouts for me. I enjoy the workout sessions which are not strenuous and high pressure. I progressed slowly at my own pace while being mindful of my weak arthritic knees. Most people join DWD sessions to lose weight which was not the driving force for me. I joined to add a kind of physical movement to my life which I knew I would enjoy and improve my health. The fact that I have shed some weight and inches over the past months has been a cherry on the cake.

Photo by Valeriia Miller on Pexels.com

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you I became successful this year in sending the boy on a 4-day long outstation school field trip. I tried hard last year too but in the absence of support from my husband, I could not pack the boy off. The boy has throughout been reluctant to go. Neither did he want to go last year nor was he interested in going this year. I had to don the hat of a parent who is supposed to push the child to explore and experience a life away from the protective shield of home. No wonder I am the least-liked parent.

If we were having coffee together, I would tell you I might come across as a tough parent for having sent the boy on the trip against his will but as he walked inside the airport I had a deja vu of the day when my husband and I dropped him at the school gate on the first day of LKG. We were heartbroken handing over our little teary child to the strangers. I experienced exactly this emotion seeing him off at the airport entrusting him to the school teachers for 4 days for the first time. There was a difference though. While he was crying profusely on the first day of LKG on parting from us, this time he ignored us completely as soon as he caught sight of his friends. My solace was he looked happy with his friends. He came back home with a mixed experience.

The time on the wall clock is telling me to wrap up our small coffee get-together at this point since it is time now to head over to the kitchen to prepare dinner. On a parting note, I would like to thank you for joining me over coffee today and listening to me patiently.

I have done my part and would love to be all ears to hear you, my dear reader. Is there something you would like to share with me about you, about your past week, or how you feel at this precise moment? It would be my pleasure to continue our conversation in the comment section.

Photo by Marcus Aurelius on Pexels.com

14 thoughts on “If we were having coffee together… #MundaneMonday

  1. It’s so good to see you blogging regularly, Anamika. And more so that you are writing fiction, too. I will read your fiction post soon.
    Going on a solo trip would be great. It’s my dream, too. Let’s see when it comes true. I hope yours comes true some day. It will help your boys understand how important a role you play in their lives. Do go on that trip. Keep drawing and writing and crocheting to your heart’s content. And keep up with that physical exercise, too. You are really taking such good care of your health in every way, Anamika!
    I liked your word of the year. Free. Perfect word to inspire yourself to free you from all that holds you down.

    Like

  2. “I have reservations about calling anything tea if it does not have milk in it. Green tea, White tea, hibiscus tea and whatnot are just hot water infusions.” I totally agree and so we would most probably have tea together, not coffee.
    Leaving the boys to themselves is a really good idea. When I was working I had to go for conferences, sometimes even overseas. My husband finally got to spend more time with the kids and the kids actually enjoyed “Dad” time.

    Like

    1. I am always happy to meet a fellow tea lover in the world which shows more inclination towards coffee. Though I am okay with filter coffee, instant coffee, turkish/irish coffee, gingery milky tea is my elixir. I think more than the boys, I want to go out solo for myself. As it is they are too much into each other whether I am at home or not.

      Like

  3. There used to be a weekly round up of these posts. The hosts kept changing though. Currently, don’t see it around. But they are a good way to share what’s going on in one’s life. You’ve done such a good job of this.
    Glad you pushed D to go on the trip! Says so much about you too. You inspire me with the dance stuff – I can’t dance to save my life but it’s a good way to move and give my inner child a chance to express herself. Off to investigate Deepti!
    Have a good week, Anamika!

    Like

    1. Did you happen to investigate Deepti by now, Corinne? Deepti dance workout videos are more of workouts with Hindi/Punjabi/Tamil/Telegu songs and very less of dance actually. So if I say I can dance that will be completely untrue. Maybe I have reached the stage where if someone shows me the dance steps and if they are easy, I can try to catch up.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely post Didi! ‘Free’ is the right expression which we a knowingly or unknowingly chase. But making it front and centre of the year helps keeping focus on it! Way to go with blogging, colouring, dancing, crocheting, solo trip and anything that keeps the spirit of ‘Being Free’ intact!

    Like

  5. This is going to be a long conversation Anamika. The comment section isn’t going to be enough. Let me just say I am so proud you can put your foot down where the well-being of your son is concerned. He will value you for it even if it doesn’t seem so now. Sending lots of love your way.

    Like

  6. If we were having coffee together, I would say, as I always do, it was wonderful catching up with you, Anamika. What makes this post special is the way you have talked about the little things that makes ones life rich and colorful. I love these casual conversations, Anamika. 💖💖

    Like

    1. It is my pleasure that I could make it interesting, VInitha. And if the life is not as colourful as it should be, we will sit down with our colours pens to paint it red, blue, pink, yellow or anything else 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.