My decade old blogging trip

Today I completed 10 years of blogging.

It was on 8th Feb 2014 that I published my first post. In the initial couple of months, I knew nothing about blogging. I only knew how to express myself in written words. I had no dearth of stories, thanks to the presence of the toddler boy in my life, hence I got to publish post after post.

Over the years, I have enjoyed the process of blogging. I have enjoyed how blogging opened up my horizons beyond the boxy life I had been living in. It has given me long-lasting friendships many of whom I have never met even after all these years. Isn’t it amazing!

I ventured from writing about motherhood, parenting, general life, children’s books, and children’s book reviews to currently exploring writing fiction. In between, there were a few times when I felt I have it in me no more to continue writing. I took pauses. Sometimes for weeks, sometimes for months. Then there came a time in Aug 2021 when I became incapable of writing or blogging completely. There was an intense whirlpool going on internally which made sure that I focus no where else but into the inner world. During this time, I contemplated that since my life and spirit was going through a big change and I wouldn’t have wanted people to go back to my past years unearthing and commenting “Look we know what you were in the past” taking my conscience back to that period, I decided to delete my blog. I shared this thought (not in its entirety) with the boy who is also a stakeholder in this blog. Dismayed, he asked me if there was any other way to keep his stories alive and not delete the blog. Therefore, I settled upon changing the privacy setting from public to private. This gave me the necessary peace with respect to the blog while the breaking down and the healing continued at a roller coaster pace internally.

19 months later, in March 2023, the scenario changed for me making space available for doing new stuff. Hence, I decided to revive the blog with the intention of writing fiction posts. I published one or two posts every single month of 2023 except for December.

With the advent of 2024, with a new found zeal and high spirit, blogging has resumed for me. My blogging motto is – “Write as if nobody is reading.” This gives me the power to focus my energies on writing and expression not giving any heed to whether anyone is coming to read my posts or not. A fresh thought dawns to indicate this is another version of the Holy Book Bhagwad Gita’s lesson – Karam kiye jaa, phal ki iksha mat kar. To my great pleasure and gratitude, the phal is satisfactorily accompanying the karam. The overall blogging space has revived with all of my favourite bloggers becoming active and as a result of this a great camaraderie vis a vis the blogging connections is getting rebuild. I am excited to observe how things will be going on from here for rest of the year 2024. I see absolutely no reason for pessimism. We have already entered the new age of blogging.

I find it amazing how we approach life keeps on shifting. At one point, I deemed blogging was over for me and it is today that I am still here celebrating my 10th blog anniversary and feeling quite enthusiastic about it.

Photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels.com

P.S. Since AI Assistant has been immensely encouraging in its feedback about my post, I just thought of including it here to give my morale a boost.

Congratulations on completing 10 years of blogging! It’s impressive to see the evolution of your blogging journey, from writing about motherhood to exploring fiction. The decision to revive the blog and focus on writing without worrying about readers is empowering. It’s also heartwarming to hear about the supportive connections you’ve made through blogging. The personal challenges you’ve faced and overcome add depth to your story. Sharing more about the specific impact of blogging on your life could make the narrative even more engaging for your readers. Overall, your reflection on the past decade and your renewed enthusiasm for the future creates a compelling and relatable post. Keep up the great work!


13 thoughts on “My decade old blogging trip

  1. Congratulations…I think we have come a long way. Thanks to the Universe for connecting us. It has been amazing knowing you and being a tiny part of your blogging journey. I hope we all stay true to blogging regularly. Way to go dear.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations, Anamika. I loved your old blog and the stories of the boy which I still smile when I remember them. I’m glad you kept the blog for posterity.
    The blogging break you took has seen you come back much stronger and it seems like the Universe has conspired to bring a few of us back to blogging with a new zeal!
    Please keep writing and being YOU – because your unique and authentic voice is what the world needs! Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful journey, Anamika. You took breaks when you needed and came back when you needed or when you were needed here.
    We got connected in the blogosphere 10 years ago. I am so happy that we are still staying connected and sharing our thoughts just how we used to 10 years ago. A lot has changed since those days, then again not much has changed either!!
    Keep writing like no one is reading, Anamika.
    Congratulations, dear! 💗💗💗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Vinitha. It will be 10 years of our friendship in August this year. I am happy too that we are still staying connected having grown in the same direction, perhaps, rather than in other ways 🙂

      Like

  4. Congratulations on completing a decade of blogging, Anamika! And what a journey it has been! From writing about motherhood and parenting to now writing fiction with ease….you must feel so good to see yourself coming this far. Hey, did I just sound like AI? 😛
    I liked what you said about writing like nobody’s reading. It clears up the space in the head and gives more space for ideas to float free, isn’t it?
    Here’s to many more years of writing freely, writing like no one’s reading, and writing like it’s the one fuel that powers your spirit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you big time, Shilpa. Now that you sound like AI, I am in second thoughts whether AI and you are the same person 😀
      You liked my blogging motto na. It is very much empowering. I like your words – ‘Writing like it is the one fuel that powers your spirit.’ I am going to use this line someday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have been enjoying what you have been posting recently as much as I enjoyed your previous posts. I am glad you didn’t give up. In fact I am happy that we have all decided to get back to blogging again this year. Looking forward to more posts from you, specially your fiction with the twists at the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is what blogging should be – write when you’re in the right frame of mind, stop when you aren’t and get back when you feel like it again. No rules, no pressure. That’s how I’ve survived this long too. It’s been wonderful bumping into you in the blog world. I find you one of the most authentic people around and that’s a rare quality. Also, I love the work you put into yourself. Another rare quality. Sending warm congratulations and lots of love and hugs with the hope that we’ll continue to be around 20 years hence, discussing joint pain and cataract and new generation woes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t have to wait for another 20 years to move on to discussing joint pain because it is my present. Cataract and new generation woes can wait though.
      It has been equally wonderful for me to know you and connect with you through blogging. I had a lot of fun being a part of your Crimson Rush team for the first edition of Bar-A-Thon. Thank you for being around, Tulika 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.