The failed escape #FictionMonday

Photo by Jan Koetsier on Pexels.com

Broken shards lying all around.

Dishevelled sheets on the bed

Closets stripped of their contents

Loose papers torn and strewn across

A little boy squatting in one corner

Horrors written all over his face

Mum enters the room shock-stricken

What happened during the half an hour I was out?

Her eyes ask the boy.

Just then.

Stone smashing the window lands at her feet.

A piece of paper loosens up in the breeze.

You are not wanted here, you rotten fish.

Leave and go away with your pup, you whore

The message hits.

WHORE.

Each letter of the word pricked

The life she wanted to escape from

Yet couldn’t manage to go any farther.

This piece is written in response to the one hundred and eighty-fifth edition of Fiction Monday inspired by the above picture prompt hosted at Void Thoughts by Vinitha Dileep. Do join in if you have a tale to tell.


14 thoughts on “The failed escape #FictionMonday

  1. This one took me by surprise, Anamika. I didn’t expect such an ending. I was waiting for the mother to unravel the boy’s mischief. How tragic is it when one can’t get away from their past misery! Well articulates, Anamika.
    It’s truly a pleasure to read your posts. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was wondering if the boy had been up to some mischief. But the last line took my breath away and broke my heart.
    So wonderfully done, Anamika! You pulled off the twist at the end so well. I am glad you are trying new narrative styles to express your ideas. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vinitha also pointed out to the same things about the boy committing some mischief. Now that I think of it, I see a possibility there. Thanks for appreciating the story, Shilpa. As of now, I know nothing about different narrative styles. My mind shaped up this story in this way and I let it flow. There is a lot for me to learn. Where to start from is the question.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.