The Conniving Filmy Kids #MondayMusings

Today I am going to tell you a story about 2 children who  enjoyed a happy childhood.

They grew up in the era when children being spanked by the parents was a widely accepted norm and they were okay with it. Their parents had divided departments between them to take care of their children’s spanking needs. While the father took care of their education department always demanding them to turn up with the subject’s books they were respectively weak in and the mother took care of the minor disciplinary departments referring the major ones to the father thus broadening his area of responsibility. Still the kids were of the opinion that they were kind of well off compared to their cousins who had more instances of deadly violations by their parents.

In addition, these 2 kids were quite fighters in themselves who fought each other with intense rage and animosity. There wouldn’t pass 2 days when they wouldn’t be seen armed with bats and thick sticks screaming and running after each other, replicating the likes of action sequences from the HIndi movies of those times and uttering – “Main tujhe chodunga nahin! Main tera khoon pee jaunga!” with blood-thirsty eyes. Their father always threatened to send one of the two kids to boarding school if they continued to display hostility with each other and that both of them will crave to see each other, used to terrify them to the hilt. If this would have happened post Dabang then their dialogue might have been – “Ek doosre ko na dekh paane ka sochne se darr nahin lagta Papa Sahib, darr to boarding school ka lagta hai.

However, when the frequency of the threats crossed the decent time frame of getting executed, both of them mutually reached the conclusion “Papa ke pass lagta hai paise-waise hain nahin ki hum main se ek ko bhi boarding school bhej sakein to darne ki koi zarurat nahin“. The fights continued and so did the threats and what vanished was the fear.

The exact year is not certain but one fine year they started the tradition to declare one day out of the 365 days as non-violence day. The legalities of this non-violence day were –

  1. One non-violence day was permissible per child per year.
  2. That day would be the birthday of the child.
  3. The meaning of non violence was none of the other 3 members of the family – the other child and the parents, will raise their hand or any other movable property of the house on the birthday kid.
  4. The above clause was binding upon the birthday kid in no way.

What I had never been able to understand was how come their parents also bought their concept of non-violence day? Nevertheless, it was a good enough arrangement for both of them which continued in its original format for a long time.


Last week, it was Dhruv’s 6th birthday. As soon as he walked into the living room after waking up in the morning, still rubbing his eyes yet wide awake, he told me he had planned to watch lots of TV that day since it was his birthday. “Oh, yes! Why not?”, I said and granted his wish.

Staying true to my character of being the unrelenting mother when it comes to TV viewing, I got the TV switched off after 2 hours.

Those 2 seemingly innocent kids, long before they became conniving, with their father who was enjoying his phase of unchallenged authority at the time of this photo.

Linking this post to Monday Musings hosted by Corinne Rodrigues

and #MondayMommyMoments hosted by Dr. Amrita Misra and Deepa Gandhi.

Healthwealthbridge


23 thoughts on “The Conniving Filmy Kids #MondayMusings

    1. You are right Amrita. Those 2 kids were me and my brother. I too make an effort to have no yelling days with Dhruv because spanking is no longer a norm now with us. Thank you for reblogging my post on your blog 🙂

      Like

  1. Hah! I love this post. Brought a lot of memories of me and my brother growing together. My dad also used the boarding school dialogue on us. 🙂 Thank you for the post.. Brought a smile to my face.
    And yes, Happy Birthday, Dhruv.

    Like

  2. hahaha That was an enjoyable read, Anamika. So you and your brother there. My brother and I used to quarrel all the time but we were quite scared of dad and it was mom’s favourite way to calm us by invoking dad’s name and saying that she would tell. I like the idea of non-violence day. And you are right, no spanking these days but we have to keep tight control over their schedules especially TV and gadgets.

    Like

  3. Hehehe….what fun reading your post, Anamika! I was imagining you and your bro, running after each other, in almost the same way I and my younger bro did, all those years ago! And, how we loved mouthing those filmy dialogues! “Kuttey, main tera khoon pee jaoongaa!” hehehehe

    Like

  4. Hahaha. We weren’t spanked but we still fight around. Discipline was something which was to be followed very strictly at home. Each of us got spanked by mom for fighting 😁

    A brilliant read. So glad to have dropped by after long. 🙂

    Like

  5. Haha..good one Anamika. All siblings fight and same were the cases with me and, my siblings. Although we never got spanked. I liked the idea of non violence day. I think it’s time to try with my girls as they fight 24 by 7. Thanks for linking up with #MMM

    Like

  6. It’s a post that propels us to reflect how we educate our children. It’s empowering but also light with the way you twisted the Dabbang dialogue. Till now, parents way of educating has been flawed and once I read an expert in TOI saying that before bearing children, one has to learn it by following courses.

    Like

  7. Ha ha! Such a sweet post and sure depicts how siblings team up. My brother and I have done things that we now feel embarrased about 😉
    I like how filmy you made the post. I never knew about your love for Bollywood 😛

    Like

  8. I don’t know why I don’t get your posts in my email and I missed reading your blog all this while. I’m glad I persisted with a file where I’d mentioned the blogs I like to read and found your link and then clicked and got to read you. I was worried you’d stopped writing…

    Like

  9. Ha ha ha.. Anamika what a gem of a post – To think that children have ‘Spanking needs’ – Still laughing at that one. And also, ‘paise wise toh hai nahin’ – I can just imagine you guys discussing this. So so funny. I love both those little devils in the kiddie avatars.

    Like

  10. My siblings and I were like that too. Imagine three kids fighting together. It was a disaster. But since I was the eldest, I got to order them around a lot 🙂
    Those are such memorable times 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.