#Microblog Mondays 16 : Experimenting with the new looks

This weekend I finally agreed with myself that I have got bored with the plain and dull look of my blog and hence I need to infuse some colours into the blog’s face. Thus, the hunt began for the appropriate theme. Trust me, finding a free theme that suits your colour pallet and has adequate provision of sidebars and footers is not an easy job. I tried several themes working late into the night. But with each one there came up some or the other problem. My favourite theme was Lovebirds but it was meant for wedding plans and keeping the guests updated about events. Also, it was only offering a sidebar with no footers to accommodate widgets. And, since I am not entering the wedding bliss, neither now nor ever, for having already tasted its sweetness and sourness over the last 10 years along with the footer issue I had to forgo it.

Then, next I settled for the Chalkboard theme. It revived the class room feel. I was not too sure about it but decided to keep it because it satisfied my widgets accommodation criteria. I received feedback on the changed blog’s look from a seasoned blogger, whom I consider as my mentor and guide, that dark backgrounds do not go well with many readers and they might turn away. ‘Oh dear’, I thought.

Therefore, now I have chosen the Lovecraft theme. It offers a white background for reading the blog posts and a darker background for rest of the content. It caters well to my need for widgets in the sidebars and the footer. The header image of the train is from my personal photos clicked from one of our Lake Windermere cruises taken at the Lakeside of the steam railway.

What do you feel about this new blog look? If you have been a regular visitor of my blog, do you think the change has been for good or did you like the previous theme more?

Linking up with Microblog Mondays at Stirrup Queens.

microblog_mondays


15 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays 16 : Experimenting with the new looks

  1. Been there… done that! So I know what a massive effort it is… Congratulations on finding a theme you love 🙂 This is really neat and the blog looks nice and colourful… if I may request you to tone down the blue a little, the black sidebar text is not standing out against the dark blue… the imapct of sidebars gets lost 😦

    Like

    1. Thank you Ankita for the feedback. I will try to tone down the darker tone in the sidebar but I think it may also be the limitation of the theme.

      Like

  2. That’s looking very good. I know how hard it is to choose right theme which is free. Dark background overall and white background for the post is easy to read and good for eyes. Liked the header too 🙂

    Like

  3. I like the new look …it’s clutter free and that’s the best thing about it…And if you are happy with your blog, that’s all you need 🙂

    Like

  4. I don’t find any problem with this new look, Anamika. And guess what, we are back from our Lake Windermere trip just last night. 🙂 It was a long weekend here and we had a pretty relaxing trip. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your feedback 🙂 I will work on reducing the darker tone on the sidebars.

      Like

  5. Hey,I am new to your blog.So will not be able to compare this with your previous theme.But I liked this one.It is difficult to choose a theme of your choice.I just started my blog and was going nuts with selections. This look is organized and easy to read.

    Like

  6. The new look looks very nice on your blog Anamika! Happy to know you’ve got what you were looking for…it is never an easy decision to choose a suitable theme. Was trying it our the other day for my blog but didn’t want to go through the hassle all over again, so decided to continue with the same. Btw, lovely header pic…reminds me of our many wonderful trips to Windermere when we lived in England. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Windermere and the surrounding areas of Lake district are the most beautiful parts in England. Thanks Esha for appreciating the new theme and look.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.