Rekindling our lost love for books #MundaneMonday

Large shady trees all around.

The peace and quiet of the area.

A one-storied corner house at the end of the street.

The familiar white gate.

A bunch of footwear scattered on one side of the entrance door.

The ever-inviting entrance door to the hall.

The sight filled with books all around the hall.

The smell of subtle fragrance emitted by the books.

A smell meant only for a book-lover.

Could I grow any bigger in size, I would have liked to hug the entire place and just keep it close.

This was the magical spot I first visited towards the end of 2014 with the boy giving me company. The name is Lightroom Bookstore. It quickly became our favourite place for children’s books. In those early years, we visited this place almost every month splurging on picture books, sharing our mutual love for reading.

Photo by Tuur Tisseghem on Pexels.com

As the years progressed, my son grew apart from books and reading. X-box and the internet took over and the pressure of academics increased with Middle School. Reading was reduced to the 2 books chosen by the school curriculum for the English Literature subject every year. I found myself alone in my love for children’s books and eventually moved on to other genres. Our visits to Lightroom Bookstore gradually ceased.

The last time we visited the place was in October, 2022. The series my son read last was Harry Potter, finishing it in December 2022. His words of appreciation for the series – “How can someone write such marvellous books! I don’t think anything or any book can come closer to the Harry Potter books. I am done with reading books after this.” Despite my efforts to introduce him to the Percy Jackson series later, he rejected it. Little did I know, he meant he was giving up on reading for once and all. I am not sure if Harry Potter books have had such an impact on any kid anywhere.

A week back, I came across an Instagram post from Lightroom about a six-month book club for kids aged 10-13 from June until November. The combination of online and offline meetings sparked hope in me. Could this be a way to rekindle my son’s interest in reading, to engage him with at least one book a month outside his school curriculum, and to interact with other children who love books?

Photo by Ksenia Chernaya on Pexels.com

This Saturday, I went to the bookstore to collect the first month’s book and my heart swelled with joy as I stepped inside the wonderful space. ‘How much I have loved and missed this place!‘ I thought. I went around, looking at the books wishing to take back home at least 2 books because I could not have simply contained myself by just picking up the Book club’s book. Browsing through the shelves, I found a book on Communist Agenda for kids and I knew the boy would love if he chose to read it.

Then something heartwarming happened. The owner, recognizing me by name, greeted me warmly, recalling our previous visits. Wasn’t I just a customer all these years? How was she able to recall me and my name? Was I floored? I was for sure. I also prodded my accompanying husband, after we stepped out of the bookstore walking towards our car parked a few metres away, if he had heard the owner knew me. He shushed me since I was happily loud for my joy to echo through every nook and corner of the surroundings.

At home, when I showed the book to my son, I saw a big smile spread across his face. He began skimming it immediately. He stopped only when he was reminded he was supposed to focus on studying for his ongoing final exams. The book will wait for him until the exams got over.

The whole experience made me realise how wrong I had been in the last 2 years to stop our regular visits to the Lightroom Bookstore deeming them a waste of time and money because he seemed uninterested in books. I forgot the unique charm of this place and its vast array of books that cater to all interests. The key is to keep exposing him to this world of books. I am determined to make this correction from now on.


4 thoughts on “Rekindling our lost love for books #MundaneMonday

  1. Wow didi! This is such a surreal read full of hope and serendipity! Glad the boy has found another genre of interest. We are definitely going to ‘Lightroom Bookstore’ whenever we visit Bangalore next time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You painted a pretty picture of the bookstore with your words, Anamika. I would’ve loved to see a photo of the bookstore as well.
    I am glad to hear that D is rekindling his interest in books again. You are right, we have to keep introducing them to books even when they grow interest in other things. The allure of the books is undeniable, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved reading the post, Anamika. And I was so happy to know that D showed an interest in the book that you picked up for him. I am sure he will get back to reading, all over again. And I can feel how it made you happy that the owner of the bookstore remembered you by your name. I too would have been on cloud nine, had I been in your place. People seldom remember introverts as well as they do extroverts–this has been my belief always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the sound of this bookstore and having the owner know you by name after a gap, must mean a lot. Glad there’s a possibility of Dhruv getting back to his love of reading.

    Sunita Saldhana was down here last week and during our meeting we spoke of you and Dhruv with much affection and joy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.